Women in my life, and Chores

As I labored throughout yesterday to wash a turmeric stain out of my clothes, I wondered how much hard work my mom does for this. This was a feeling that grew stronger with each moment. It was while, I was listening to Amanda Palmer’s “Confessions of a Mother”, that it finally hit me.
I have always abhorred doing these chores, and somehow the duty always fell to my grandmother and my mother. It was easy really, throughout my childhood I had seen them doing these works and I thought, “Well, maybe they will be doing it forever.”
That was regressive of me.
But, I guess that is how it goes. You get used to it. Your mom is washing your clothes, your grandmother is filling your water bottles. Somewhere in between you start to think that it IS a woman’s job to do these things. The worst thing being, that you pass that on, to your friends, to your children.
Also, somewhere it is because of the mollycoddling, somewhere every mother is responsible for that one vice towards their children. So, even when you are a child you are never taught these things. Until, one fine day you are just supposed to do it by yourself. That’s when you turn into this bitter teenager.
“How do I do this?”
“Do it.”

Simple as that.
However, we abuse our sisters because of this too. For, it is so easy since, they do it all by themselves from an early age. You do that with your peers, who are very diligent about these chores, and it becomes a simple method for you. You push your work to someone else. Till date, I have not washed my jeans by hand, and I have always relied on my mother for that particular task. It seems funny really. I am growing old, sitting in a hostel, living alone, and soon enough I might have to live completely alone for the rest of days. Yet, I would still rely on the female members of my household to do this task.e of this too. For, it is so easy since, they do it all by themselves from an early age and you push the load onto them. You do that with your peers, who are very diligent about these chores, and it becomes a simple method for you. You push your work to someone else. Till date, I have not washed my jeans by hand, and I have always relied on my mother for that particular task. It seems funny really. I am growing old, sitting in a hostel, living alone, and soon enough I might have to live completely alone for the rest of days. Yet, I would still rely on the female members of my household to do this task.

How long till is transfers to babies then? I doubt I will ever have a female partner, but, if I do, it will be easy to say, “You change the baby, I will take it to travel.”. Knowing myself, I will be inept in both of them equally, yet, washing seems to be filthy and tiresome work.
I mean my mom calls up and tells me that I could just give the shirts to a laundry for washing but, she would never do that by herself. And that creates this bad habit in me. I expect that my work will be done by someone else. It’s scary that we will make generations after generations like this.

You know what? You could stop today too. You could simply, walk out and decide that “Hey, I am going to wash those clothes, and clean the floor of my room.”, “Maybe, I will fill the water bottle too.”

This, is a issue that needs to be resolved within yourself, and that will help you with it always. So, that’s part of what I plan to do from now on, share the workload.

I am joining the Ariel #ShareTheLoad campaign at BlogAdda and blogging about the prejudice related to household chores being passed on to the next generation.

Leave a Reply

